Hodges captures Meagor Title

He may be able to bowl with the Seniors, but he can still teach the youngsters a thing or two.

55 year old Mark Hodges captured his record breaking 6th championship, 256-216 over two time champ Jim McKenzie at the 33rd annual Bill Meagor Peterson Point Classic. Hodges dominated the tournament leading all 4 rounds and averaging 233 for 12 games.

This years stepladder finale began with 5th seeded Joe Martinich defeating 4th seed, 16 year old Jeff Preston, 245-236. Preston's effort was good for a scholarship and set a record as the youngest bowler to make the top five at this event.

Martinich, who also made the top five for the first time in his young career, was then defeated in the next match by 3rd seed McKenzie, 211-170.

The veteran McKenzie then dominated the semifinal besting 2007 champ Todd Edelen 249-152. Edelen, always a tough competitor, rolled the tournaments high series with a 730.

The match set up the final, with the 46 year old McKenzie facing the Butte Hall of Famer Hodges. Having bowled a fine tournament, winning 10 of 12 points and averaging 219, McKenzie fell short in his quest for a third title, as Hodges broke to an early lead and never trailed in the title match. Besides winning the tournament, Hodges also had the competitions high game, a 280.

The rest of the top qualifiers were led by 6th place alternate Nate Gelling, whose 58.23 point total saw him miss the top five finalists by 2 pins.

The remaining Sunday-morning tourney qualifiers and their Peterson point totals follow:

7.   Bill Keller,   57.22;
8.   Mike Krankowski,   56.24;
9.   Dave W Martinich,   56.07;
10. Pat O'Rourke Jr.,   55.05;
11. Kurt Kramer,   54.38;
12. Keith Woods,   54.19;
13. Brenda Shaffer,   53.41;
14. Shana Fortune,   53.07;
15. Brad Cottom,   52.45;
16. Dan Grundhauser,   52.37;
17. Leo Levengood,   51.46;
18. Chris Medina,   49.38;
19. Bill Abraham,   48.28;
20. Tony Woodward,   48.12;

Tourney Sidelights - Hodges becomes the oldest person to win the title, edging out Hall of Famers Bill Meagor and Steve Ryan, who were both 54 years old when they won their respective titles.

Barry Butori saw the bowlers dream com true, converting the next to impossible
7-10 split. It was most likely the first time in tourney history, it was converted.

In this years skins game, Brenda Shaffer came out the winner with 5 skins. Brandon O'Connell was second with 3 skins, and Jim McKenzie had the remaining 2. The remaining contestant, Raylene Shaffer, rolled well, but failed to win a skin.

The Count Up-Count Down competition was won this year by Dave W Martinich who was crowned the champ 8-7, in a a game that went into sudden death. Bill Abraham was the 2nd place finisher. The consolation wound up in a tie between Neil Midtlyng and Walt Parrett.

Submitted by tourney manager Walt Parrett.